Local Music

CONNECTION / EMOTION / PASSION …… THESE ARE THE WORDS I WOULD USE TO DESCRIBE MUSIC. HOWEVER, THE BEAUTIFUL THING ABOUT MUSIC IS THAT IT MEANS SO MANY DIFFERENT THINGS TO SO MANY DIFFERENT PEOPLE. MUSIC FILLS THE WORLD AND OUR COMMUNITY. EVERYDAY IT BRINGS PEOPLE TOGETHER AND IT SHAPES US IDIVIDUALLY.

Connection: Music helps bring people together. It connects people with similar interests, it sparks new conversations and live music is a great reason to meet up with your friends. Bottom line, music connects us.

Emotion: Music can create a mood and atmosphere. It is able to bring back memories, feelings, and thoughts. Whether you’re in a happy and playful mood or you’re feeling sad, music will be there to help.

Passion: Music is a skill, a hobby, and a profession. It takes patience, practice, dedication, skill, courage, and confidence to play and create it.

The Durham Region is flooded with talented and humble musicians. They play at our local bars, pubs, clubs, patios, venues, and festivals. They create a soundtrack for us to listen to while we share good times with friends and family. That’s why we can’t forget about the people who work so hard at creating it.

Below are links to some of the wonderfully talented musicians that call our community their home. If you want to see some upcoming local shows but aren’t sure of the best way to find out about them, please contact me. I’d love to help.

Trish Robb : http://www.trishrobb.com/music&video.html

The Stables : https://myspace.com/herecomethestables

Susan Latimer : https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/susan-latimer/id179218453

Stone Sparrows : https://itunes.apple.com/ca/artist/the-stone-sparrows/id478390990

The Do Goo Badlies : https://thedgb.bandcamp.com/

Jeff Leech : https://jeffleechthepepperboxchoir.bandcamp.com/

The Micronite Filters : https://themicronitefilters.bandcamp.com/

Tijuana Jesus : https://tijuanajesus.bandcamp.com/

Meghan Patrick : http://www.meghanpatrickmusic.com/

Jeremiah Taylor : https://soundcloud.com/jeremiahtaylorx

Stacey Bannon : http://www.staceybannon.com/

West Hammock : http://www.westhammock.com/

Patrick Dorie : https://patrickdorie.bandcamp.com/album/goodbye-expectations

Hairy Holler : https://hairyholler.bandcamp.com/album/to-many-women

Billard Blossum : https://billardblossom.bandcamp.com/

Mayfly’s Landing : https://mayflyslanding.bandcamp.com/

Rory Taillon : http://www.rorytaillon.com/

Misty Sunshine : https://mistysunshine.bandcamp.com/

Ryan Lacroix : https://www.facebook.com/ryan.lacroix/

The Mailman & Newf Show : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=noK1_hZ-Sd4